30DollarPTDE.com – FAQ’s
1. Is this course approved by the State of Texas? Yes. This course is approved and meets all required state standards. It has been assigned Course #117.
2. What is the course format and what does it include? This course is in downloadable pdf file format and includes 32 hours of “Classroom” instruction and 14 hours of “Behind-the-Wheel” instruction.
3. Why should I choose this course? Our course is Texas approved and affordable. Plus, you can work around your busy schedule and complete lessons whenever YOU want.
4. When can I begin teaching the course? After you receive your Parent Taught Driver Education (PTDE) Program Guide and receipt from the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). An online packet request form is found here: https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/ParentTaught/PTInstruction.aspx
5. Who should I contact if I sent in my fee and request form but haven’t yet received my PTDE Program Guide and receipt? Contact TDLR by email CS.Driver.Education.Safety@tdlr.texas.gov or phone (800) 803-9202.
6. Does this course include online testing for a learner’s license? No. A comprehensive quiz is included in the course. When the student is ready, visit your local DPS office for testing.
7. Is my 14 year-old eligible to begin this course? Yes, a student must be 14 years of age prior to beginning the classroom portion; however, they may not test for a learner license until their 15th birthday.
8. Are there any computer requirements to view this course? No. The course is in pdf file format and may be viewed on any device.
9. Where do I get my (DE-964) Certificate of Course Completion to present to the DPS Licensing Office? The DE-964 is included with the course and will be sent by email shortly after purchase.
10. Can I print the DE-964 certificate in black and white? No. The certificate must be printed from a color printer. In order for the DPS driver license staff to accept, the certificate must be green in color and the control number must appear in the upper right-hand corner.
11. What is the timeline to complete the course? A minimum of 76 hours of actual instruction time is required to complete the driver education course however, there are some requirements to keep in mind:
– The “Classroom” thirty-two (32) hours must not be completed in fewer than sixteen calendar days.
– The “Behind-the- Wheel” fourteen (14) hours plus the additional 30 hours of driving practice must not be completed in fewer than forty-four calendar days.
12. My teenage son has been driving for quite some time. Can that time count towards the behind-the- wheel time requirements of this course? No behind-the- wheel instruction or practice may be permitted until the student has been issued a learner license. Driving without a valid license on a public street or highway is a violation of state law.
13. Will course hours transfer to a “Commercial Driving School?” ONLY if the entire 32 hours of classroom instruction is completed successfully. Please note that a transfer to a “Commercial Driving School” will require additional course fees be paid to the “Commercial Driving School” that are not included in the purchase of this PTDE course.
14. If my teenager completes the classroom hours of instruction at a commercial (or public) school, what must I do to teach just the behind-the- wheel phase? Contact the school to transfer the classroom hours to you, the instructor of the parent-taught course. Then, you only need the behind-the- wheel phase or Module 13 of course. Be sure to take to DPS the transfer documentation from the driving school showing successful completion of the classroom phase.
15. My teenager completed the 32 classroom hours of instruction in the parent-taught course and I want those hours transferred to a commercial driving school for the behind- the-wheel phase. What should I do? The parent/instructor provides the receiving commercial school with a copy of the completed Classroom Instruction Log and a transfer DE-964. Contact Customer Service at firstname.lastname@example.org with questions.
16. Are there any additional requirements? Yes. The student must be provided with an additional 30 hours of behind-the- wheel practice, which must include at least 10 hours driving at night. These hours are required to be certified by a parent or guardian before a teenager may progress to Phase 2 of the Texas Graduated Driver Licensing Program (http://dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/gdl.htm).
Behind-the- Wheel Instruction Practice Log 30 Hours;
Behind-the- Wheel Instruction Guide 30 Hours; and
Impact Texas Teen Driver (ITTD) 2-hour video
17. What is ITTD? Impact Texas Teen Drivers (ITTD) is an informational tool (2 hour video) that is designed to educate teens on the dangers of distracted driving. An ITTD certificate is required by DPS before obtaining a provisional driver license. The video must be viewed by the student and an ITTD certificate printed. For more details visit https://impacttexasteendrivers.dps.texas.gov/
Review the FAQ’s for important timelines.
18. What is a “Verification of Enrollment and Attendance (VOE) Form?” It is a document that verifies student enrollment and is required by DPS before obtaining a driver’s license. (A high school diploma or GED will fulfill this requirement.) The VOE and more information is found at https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/driver/driverresources.htm
19. Where can I get a VOE signed? From your teenager’s public, charter, home, private school; GED Program; or Institution of Higher Education Administration Office.
20. What items must be provided to the driver license office for a Learner License or a Provisional License? Visit: http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/DriverLicense/ApplyforLicense.htm
21. Does completion of this course qualify for an automobile insurance discount? Consult with your insurance carrier.
© 2015 Pecan Creek Strategies, LLC